Round Mull Yacht Race

Ardfern Yacht Centre

Oban Sailing Club

In Association With

Owen Sails and Ardfern Yacht Centre

Friday 5th – Sunday 7th July 2024

Owen Sails Logo

Pay Entry Fees Online

You are cordially invited to take part in the Thirty Ninth running of Oban Sailing Club’s annual race around the Isle of Mull, generously supported by the sponsors.

A local seafood buffet provided by Forteith Refrigeration and Heatpump Solutions, followed by an informal get together will take place in Oban Sailing Club on the Thursday evening. It is hoped a special effort will be made by all competitors and crew to attend. Once again Dimension Polyant will be generously supplying goodies for competitors as will as other sponsors.

The Mishnish Bucket and the Bunessan Hall trophy will both be presented in the Bunessan Hall on Saturday evening.

The race follows its established route and program, circumnavigating Mull anticlockwise with overnight stops at Tobermory and Bunessan. The race starts in Oban Bay, comprising of the following stages.

Oban to Tobermory – Friday 5th July Start 1200 – Distance 24.3 n.miles
Tobermory to Bunessan – Saturday 6th July Start 0900 – Distance 28.3 n.miles
Bunessan to Oban – Sunday 7th July Start 0830 – Distance 41.4 n.miles

The race is open to all monohull yachts with a CYCA handicap.

Competition shall be held under racing Rules (RSS) 2021-24, including the RYA prescriptions, the rules of each class of yacht concerned, the sailing instructions, conditions of entry and briefing. Entrants are advised of the arduous nature of this event around an exposed, rocky coastline. Entries from competitors under the age of 18 will not be accepted. Advertising may be displayed as per ISAF Code 20.

We expect this year the fleet will be split into at least three classes, the following are the major trophies to be awarded:

The Torran Rock to the monohull with the best corrected time overall regardless of class.
The Royal Bank of Scotland Trophy to the monohull regardless of class with the best on points over all three legs 1 2 3 4 etc. In the event of a tie the last leg will be the decider.
The Brian Shellcock Memorial Trophy to the monohull restricted sail class with the best corrected time over all three legs.

All other prizes will be presented at our end of season prizegiving dinner dance date to be confirmed.

Entries close 14th June 2024. Entry form and fees should be sent to:

Billy Forteith Tel 01631563404 Mob 07825563267
Ceol na Mara
Pulpit Rock
Oban Argyll PA34 4LZ

Sailing Instructions will be issued from early June. Entry instructions and form are available below.

RMR Sponsors 2022

Pay Entry Fees Online

Please remember to submit your entry form too!

RMR Entry Fee 2024

£110.00Add to Basket

Late Entry Fee post 14 June 2024+£25

£25.00Add to Basket

The Round Mull yacht race is run over a three day weekend every year in late June or early July. The race is one of the highlights of the West Coast yachting calendar. Every year boats from all over Scotland and further afield converge on Oban for a great weekend of racing and good craic, amongst some of the finest scenery and sailing anywhere in the world.

For Past Results, please click here